Beautiful Blues! Retro Butterick 6582

I REALLY love the retro look…. especially rockabilly.  I contemplated this pattern for a long time, and finally had the nerve to try it!  I was visiting London, Ontario for a week of work related training about 2 years ago and there was a humongous Fabricland that I happened upon one evening.  I found some fabric (some kind of a polyester/crepe)  on the 70% off table and it was an additional 90% off.  I knew this fabric would probably make a good retro dress, but it took some time to build up my confidence and courage to actually do it.

 

Here is the pattern I chose I made size 22 in View C:

View C

The full skirt version: View C

The pattern was extremely easy to read and the instructions were awesome.  The only thing I didn’t really like was that I had to trace and cut out additional pattern pieces for the skirt.  I saved them though, and I will be ready for the next project No Problem!!!  As I was working on my project, I posted myself with the unfinished dress once I had the top and bottom constructed.  I stated that I would make the belt.  Most people on the sewing site said to avoid it and that it was necessary.  I chose to make the belt anyways since I had never made a belt before and it seemed complicated.  So, I avoided making the belt until last.  The project was at a standstill because I was afraid that I may not be able to do it well.  This week, after over a month of avoidance I quickly made the belt and WOW was it ever easy to do.    I highly recommend that everyone try making a belt.  Fun Fun Fun!!!  The only thing I could say that was bad about my belt was that I did not use stiff enough support so the belt ended up crinkling.  I believe I need something stronger than interfacing.  I’ll try it again.

 

Here is a detail of my belt:

My first belt (Sept. 7, 2015

My first belt (Sept. 7, 2015

 

I try to make outfits that I can wear anywhere, so I wore my dress to work.  It was comfortable and suitable for my work environment.  It’s so exciting to wear something to work that I have made.  Anyways, here are a couple of pics of me at work.  I really feel special when I wear something I made and it looks acceptable to be seen wearing in public. haha!

 

Sitting at my desk in my office.

Sitting at my desk in my office.

 

 

Here I am facing the tutoring area and standing in the doorway of my office.

Here I am facing the tutoring area and standing in the doorway of my office.

I guess that photo is a bit blurry.  I guess the guy taking the photo didn’t let it auto focus…. oh well, you get the gist of the whole outfit.  I am now waiting for Simplicity to have a sale so I can buy a pattern for a petticoat.  I want to make a ruffly underside for the skirt so that it looks fuller.   I think that would give the dress more of a fun factor as well.

 

I hope you all enjoy my latest creation.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

